Contact Your Representative

The following death penalty related bills have been filed in the Arkansas House of Representatives. Please contact the House Judiciary Committee to let your representatives know how you feel about these bills.

HB2103 Concerning the Sentences Available For a Capital Offense

  • The Arkansas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty is in SUPPORT of this bill.
  • Sponsored by Representative Vivian Flowers (D) – Pine Bluff.
  • For Capital Murder, this bill will replace the death penalty with life without parole.

HB2170 Concerning the Imposition of the Death Penalty on a Defendant With Serious Mental Illness

  • The Arkansas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty is in SUPPORT of this bill.
  • Sponsored by Representative Vivian Flowers (D) – Pine Bluff.
  • Bills to exempt individuals with severe mental illness from facing the death penalty are planned for Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana,North CarolinaOhioSouth DakotaTennessee, and Virginia.  Six of the Eight states have sponsorship from Republican legislators, indicating bipartisan support for the measures.
  • This bill would create a process in which a determination is made on whether the defendant qualifies for the exemption.
  • Qualifying diagnoses under the exemption typically included Schizophrenia and Schizoaffective Disorder, Bipolar Disorder, Major Depressive Disorder, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and Traumatic Brain Injury.
  • Defendants found to be suffering from severe mental illness would not be exempted from criminal responsibility, but would be subject to a maximum sentence of life without parole.

HB1798 Amending the Burden of Proof Required During the Sentencing Phase of a Trial When the State Seeks the Death Penalty

  • The Arkansas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty is in SUPPORT of this bill.
  • Sponsored by Representative Charles Blake (D) – Little Rock.
  • Bill would require aggravating circumstances to be proven beyond ANY doubt in order to impose a death sentence.
  • The current burden of proof is beyond a reasonable doubt.

HB2247 AN ACT CONCERNING CAPITAL PUNISHMENT; TO ESTABLISH A MORE HUMANE METHOD OF EXECUTION; TO PROVIDE FOR HYPOXIA AS A METHOD OF EXECUTION; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

  • The Arkansas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty is NOT IN SUPPORT of this bill.
  • Sponsored by Representative Jimmy Gazaway (R)- Paragould
  • The method would likely consist of a gas mask that covers the head and neck, which would be filled with pure nitrogen from a nearby canister. That nitrogen would displace the oxygen, leading to death by oxygen deprivation.

HB2079 CONCERNING A CONDEMNED PERSON’S LAST MEAL BEFORE HIS OR HER EXECUTION.

  • The Arkansas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty is NOT IN SUPPORT of this bill.
  • Sponsored by Representative Rebecca Petty (R) – Rogers
  • Bill would restrict the choices available for a condemned person’s last meal.

HB 1158 CONCERNING THE ENTRY UNDER CAUSE OF DEATH ON A PERSON’S DEATH CERTIFICATE WHEN THE PERSON WAS EXECUTED DUE TO A SENTENCE FOR A CAPITAL OFFENSE.

  • Sponsored by Representative Rebecca Petty (R) – Rogers
  • Now Act 417 of the 91st General Assembly of the Arkansas State Legislature

The House Judiciary Committee Members are listed below. If you cannot call, but are willing to contact the Representatives by email, please send an email to express you SUPPORT for HB 2103, HB2170, and HB1798 and ask them to do the same. Please let them know that you oppose HB2247. If you live and vote in any of their districts, please mention that you do – if you don’t that is fine. All Arkansas Representatives work for the benefit of all Arkansas citizens.

Members of the House Judiciary Committee are:

Chair 6 – Matthew Shepherd R – El Dorado, AR (870) 862-2087 matthew.shepherd@arkansashouse.org

Vice Chair 52 – Dwight Tosh R – Jonesboro, AR (870) 926-0423 dwight.tosh@arkansashouse.org

36 – Charles Blake D – North Little Rock, AR (501) 425-9824 charles.blake@arkansashouse.org

40 – Douglas House R – (Cato) North Little Rock, AR (501) 590-1055 housedouglas@gmail.com

45 – Jeremy Gillam R – Judsonia, AR (501) 729-0042 jeremy@growing45.com

26 – Laurie Rushing R – Hot Springs, AR (501) 545-6066 laurie.rushing@arkansashouse.org

35 – Clarke Tucker D – Little Rock, AR (501) 379-1767 clarke.tucker@arkansashouse.org

50 – Milton Nicks, Jr. D – Marion, AR (870) 739-5360 milton.nicks@arkansashouse.org

57 – Jimmy Gazaway R – Paragould, AR 870-239-4002 jimmy.gazaway@arkansashouse.org

58 – Brandt Smith R – Jonesboro, AR (870) 351-7459 brandt.smith@arkansashouse.org

62 – Michelle Gray R – Melbourne, AR 870-291-2515 michelle.gray@arkansashouse.org

68 – Trevor Drown R – Dover, AR (479) 857-2498 trevor.drown@arkansashouse.org

80 – Charlene Fite R – Van Buren, AR (479) 414-1818 charlene.fite@arkansashouse.org

82 – Sarah Capp R – Ozark, AR 479-209-2454 sarah.capp@arkansashouse.org

85 – David Whitaker D – Fayetteville, AR (479) 236-8313 david.whitaker@arkansashouse.org

94 – Rebecca Petty R – Rogers, AR (479) 621-3464 rebecca.petty@arkansashouse.org

97 – Bob Ballinger R – Hindsville, AR 870-350-5175 Bob@BobBallinger.com

20 – John Maddox R – Mena, AR 479-394-6060 john.maddox@arkansashouse.org

23 – Lanny Fite R – Benton, AR 501-317-2400 lanny.fite@att.net

1 – Carol Dalby R – Texarkana, AR 870-772-1255 carol.dalby@arkansashouse.org

 

Shopping Cart

Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop

Halt #8in10

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK
Facebook By Weblizar Powered By Weblizar
LATEST TWEETS
FROM: Facebook
Amazing Editorial from the "Racial Disparities in the Arkansas Criminal Justice System Research Project" https://t.co/Ofa9nEqmOm
FROM: Facebook
The Death Penalty and Mental Illness: An Evolving Standard? | Psychiatric Times https://t.co/xsWd3ON12R
Follow ArkansasAbolish.org